top of page
From the Girls of Gamma Rho

A Letter To My Freshman Self: From Katya

Hello, freshman year Katya, senior year Katya here.

I know you’re feeling a ton of different emotions right now. Nervous, excited, even a little scared. Don’t worry that hasn’t gone away. Going into my senior year, I’m feeling the same way. There’s a lot I didn’t know back then, and there’s still a lot I don’t know now. But here’s some advice I wish I had going into freshman year.

First, don’t take that 9am class. I know you got up early in high school, but you will NOT be getting up any time before 10am freshman year. Second, don’t stress about not knowing what you want to do with your life. There’s plenty of time to work that out. I’m currently studying to go to law school, but I know you aren’t even considering that as an option right now. There’s no need to rush to get everything figured out because you’ll miss out on enjoying everything that’s happening right in front of you. Be the main character in your life, not just someone who’s watching it all happen from afar.

Next, stay close to the people who make you happy, and stop trying to please the people who don’t. Hanging out with your friends shouldn’t feel like work and you shouldn’t have to stress about fitting in or impressing someone. While going through recruitment may be an out of character decision for you, it will be the reason for so many amazing memories and relationships, so don’t let that opportunity pass you by. It may not happen instantly, but Alpha Delta Pi will bring you your best friends, and once you find them, they’ll never leave you alone (no matter how much you ask).

And finally, take advantage of every opportunity you can, because you can never know what will happen in the future. You’ll never believe it but currently we’re in the middle of a global pandemic. Everyone is wearing masks, school is mostly online, all the events you used to dread going to are most likely going to be cancelled, and now you just stay in every night. Which is what you like to do, right? But you never know what you’re missing until it’s gone. I know you’d rather stay in than go out, but now you don’t even have the chance, and I regret every time I ever said no.

So say yes! Yes to going through this crazy recruitment process and to finding your best friends! Yes to going out and having fun! Yes to being yourself! Yes to taking advantage of every opportunity you get, because you never know what the future will hold.

Xoxo,

Future Katya

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page