top of page
From the Girls of Gamma Rho

DIY and Internships: Catch up with Elizabeth and what she’s been doing this summer!

When I develop a new interest, I always enjoy creating something tangible out of that, whether it be my extensive band memorabilia or the collection of t-shirts I’ve bought and created for Alpha Delta Pi. After the semester got cut short, I realized how I’ve grown to love the girls I’ve met through ADPi and when we decided to start our pen pal program, I thought it would be a nice idea to include some stickers in my letters! From there, I’ve added to my craft repertoire through other sticker designs, patches, and even custom clothing! I’ve enjoyed getting to interact with all of these girls not only in Gamma Rho, but all over through my sticker sales. Seeing the support I’ve gotten from this sisterhood has motivated me to continue creating and showing my love in the way I know best.

Although I’m an Engineering major, I’ve always had a small voice in my mind that wanted to start a business as far back as 2014. I’ve picked up a few different concepts, from planner stickers to custom t-shirts, but nothing felt quite right up until this point. After releasing my “welcome to flavortown” sticker and seeing all of the different states and getting to help out with a couple birthday surprises as well, I felt like not only was it something that motivated me and made me want to keep going, I also found myself enjoying writing the letters with every sticker sent out, and even has me considering opening an Etsy store!

When I’m not working on crafting, I’ve also gotten the opportunity to work with IBM in their internship program. While COVID-19 also caused some changes there, I’m finding it to be really fun. I’ve utilized things that I’ve learned through my time as an ADPi to put out the best work possible, from creating business primers to sitting in on client calls discussing some of the best technology in the industry. Getting to experience how our executive board addresses the day-to-day running of the chapter helped me to learn to delegate tasks, work in a team as well as how to have fun while doing it!

If I could share one piece of advice to anyone reading this, it would be to make the most out of the situations you’re in. Always think about the future and what you’re contributing to anything you’re working on! In a few short months, I’ve gone from simply being a member to contributing to our instagram, and with my internship, I’ve made connections with people across the country as well as in other continents.

Elizabeth has an etsy shop opening up soon!

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page