top of page
From the Girls of Gamma Rho

New Member Friday’s: Meet Alpha Class ’20!

The Gamma Rho chapter of Alpha Delta Pi is overjoyed to announce that we welcomed home 87 new members between our Fall Formal Recruitment and Fall Open Recruitment! Each Alpha has brought a unique aspect to the table and we can’t wait to share that with you all!

In this mini series, we want to give all our readers a chance to get to know our new Alpha’s in the way that we did so you can see why we love them as much we do.

We asked our Alphas…

What’s a strong passion of yours?

They said…

Funny story, I was actually supposed to go to college in LA for a degree in “Music Industry Studies.” My name is Nicole Hernandez and my hobby is everything to do with music! From singing, playing guitar and piano to music production and songwriting. I originally wanted to be a music major, but this pandemic made me reconsider my decision. Since I was trying to turn music into a career, I was having a difficult time finding inspiration. I realized that my music creation could only be organic if I were to keep it as a hobby. After that, I decided to major in marketing and I was actually going to attend SDSU. However, I applied to ASU last minute when my family moved here and that ended up being the better choice! I love music so much and it has brought me closer to so many of my friends. No matter what language you speak, music is an essential part of life. I feel like we could use it as a tool more often to unite people since we currently live in such a divided world. I will never stop using music as an outlet to express my emotions, and if there are any other musicians in the chapter, do not be afraid to reach out!

Hello, my name is Elsa Alexander and my hobby is horseback riding. I started riding at five-years-old. My mom bought me my first horse and I’ve never looked back. I started at hunter and then at the nine-years-old, I was introduced to saddle seat. I actually loved riding so much that when I graduated high school in 2019, I moved to California to pursue a job to learn more. In March of this year, Covid became pretty bad so I ended up moving back home to Arizona and decided to go back to school. I currently own 4 horses and one mini. I hope to always own horses!

Hey everyone, My name is Mikayla DeYoung-Laughlin and I have a very outgoing, caring, loving and funny personality. I really love to hang out with my friends, family, workout, go on adventures, go swimming, play and watch sports, go on my lake back home and anything that involves being outside. I also love having younger siblings! They’re so fun to be around, babysit and hangout with. I’m a model and I have been since I was 2-years-old. I’m also a USA powerlifter and ASU powerlifter. I’m actually ranked in the nation so I love to workout. My favorite thing to do is hang out with my friends and do various things such as hiking or going to the pool. I also love to dance and danced competitively for 16.5 years. It was the best so you can always catch me dancing or making Tik Tok’s!

My name is McKenzie Miller! I’m a huge outdoors adventure girl and love all things water, hiking, and views! One of my most favorite things to do is find lakes, rivers, streams or any clean water and explore on my paddle board. I went paddle boarding for the first time as a “something to do” moment and it ended up becoming one of my most favorite hobbies. I enjoy the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere it brings, but I also love the fact that I can explore different places a boat can’t go while still being on the water! I have a two-year-old husky who is my best friend and I take him everywhere with me, including on the board! He absolutely loves riding with me! Paddle boarding is something I recommend everyone try because it’s truly peaceful and so much fun! It brings everlasting memories and an occasional laugh when you fall into the water by accident!

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page